The library has purchased many new books so far this year. You can view a handful here along with partial descriptions or go here to see the full listing. These books are on display in the library’s lobby.

book cover

Title: Abandoned families : social isolation in the twenty-first century
Author: Seefeldt, Kristin S.

Education, employment, and home ownership have long been considered stepping stones to the middle class. But in Abandoned Families , social policy expert Kristin Seefeldt shows how many working families have access only to a separate but unequal set of poor-quality jobs, low-performing schools, and declining housing markets …

book coverTitle: American Jewry : a new history
Author: Lederhendler, Eli

Understanding the history of Jews in America requires a synthesis of over 350 years of documents, social data, literature and journalism, architecture, oratory, and debate, and each time that history is observed, new questions are raised and new perspectives found. This book presents a readable account of that history …

book coverTitle: At wit’s end : plain talk on Alzheimer’s for families and clinicians
Author: Kraus, George

At Wit’s End is a straightforward summary of leading advice for caring for someone with Alzheimer’s disease, written without technical jargon and impractical nuance. About 33 percent of the population eventually will provide care for someone with Alzheimer’s. The strain of caring for a loved one with this disease can be enormous …

book coverTitle: Before we were yours : a novel
Author: Wingate, Lisa

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”* Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi …

book coverTitle: Blood and faith : Christianity in American white nationalism
Author: Berry, Damon T.

Since the 1980 US presidential races, the term “religious right” has come to signify a politically and socially conservative form of Christianity. This term implies a joining of socially conservative evangelical Christianity with conservative politics that continues to shape the Republican Party to this day. But this relationship is hardly …

book coverTitle: The book of circles : visualizing spheres of knowledge
Author: Lima, Manuel

In this follow-up to his hugely popular The Book of Trees and Visual Complexity, Manuel Lima takes us on a lively tour through millennia of circular information design. Three hundred detailed and colorful illustrations from around the world cover an encyclopedic array of subjects–architecture, urban planning, fine art, design, fashion, technology …

book coverTitle: The craving mind : from cigarettes to smartphones to love – why we get hooked and how we can break bad habits
Author: Brewer, Judson

A leading neuroscientist and pioneer in the study of mindfulness explains why addictions are so tenacious and how we can learn to conquer them We are all vulnerable to addiction. Whether it’s a compulsion to constantly check social media, binge eating, smoking, excessive drinking, or any other behaviors, we may find ourselves …

book coverTitle: The death and life of the Great Lakes
Author: Egan, Dan

The Great Lakes—Erie, Huron, Michigan, Ontario and Superior—hold 20 percent of the world’s supply of surface fresh water and provide sustenance, work and recreation for tens of millions of Americans. But they are under threat as never before, and their problems are spreading across the continent …

book coverTitle: Food safety : a reference handbook
Author: Redman, Nina

Presenting compelling and current information about some of the most important food safety issues, this book is an invaluable reference for anyone interested in avoiding foodborne disease or understanding how food safety standards could be improved. * Provides an up-to-date summary of food safety issues, many of which are controversial …

book coverTitle: Sonic technologies : popular music, digital culture and the creative process
Author: Strachan, Robert

In the past two decades digital technologies have fundamentally changed the way we think about, make and use popular music. From the production of multimillion selling pop records to the ubiquitous remix that has become a marker of Web 2.0, the emergence of new music production technologies have had a transformative effect …