Media Mentions for May 13, 2019

The following college events and stories have appeared in the media in the past week. We want to share your media involvement too. Please send information about your NMC-related interview or appearance to publicrelations@nmc.edu. If possible, please include a link to the piece and information about where and when it was used.

Please note access to some stories may be limited by paywalls set up by the media outlet. This includes the Traverse City Record-Eagle, which limits free clicks to five per month.  You may also read Record-Eagle articles in the print edition at the Osterlin Library.

Former ambassador to talk Venezuelan crisis
Record-Eagle, May 13

Maritime Career Day May 16
White Lake Beacon, May 12

NMC holds 2019 graduation
UpNorthLive, May 4

Midnight harvest spawns shiitakes
Record-Eagle, May 4

Adapted in TC: Confidence in youth justified through students
Record-Eagle, May 5

NMC Commencement ceremonies taking place today
Ticker, May 4

Annual IT Olympics set
Record-Eagle, May 1

Welcome to NMC!

Please join us in welcoming these new additions to our NMC staff!

 

 

 

Brandon Ball joined NMC as a Supplemental Banquet Server at the Hagerty Center April 17. He can be reached at (231) 995-1146 or bball@nmc.edu.

 

 

Jacob Blanco joined NMC as a Supplemental Busser at theh Hagerty Center May 3. He can be reached at (231) 995-1146 or jblanco@nmc.edu.

 

 

Max Crowe joined NMC as a Supplemental Marine Technology Intern with the Great Lakes Water Studies Institute May 6. He can be reached at (231) 995-1793 or mcrowe@nmc.edu.

 

 

Gabe Goodman joined NMC as a Supplemental Technology Support Assistant with Technology Support Services April 17. He can be reached at (231) 995-3020 or ggoodman@nmc.edu.

 

 

Fisher Heck joined NMC as Supplemental Staff in the Great Lakes Maritime Academy Superintendent’s Office May 6. He can be reached at (231) 995-1200 or fheck@nmc.edu.

 

 

Garin Janicki joined NMC as a Student Employee / Summer Conference Crew with Residence Life May 9. He can be reached at (231) 995-1410 or gjanicki@nmc.edu.

 

 

Dylan Lennon joined NMC as a Student Employee / Summer Conference Crew with Residence Life May 9. She can be reached at (231) 995-1410 or dlennon@nmc.edu.

 

 

AJ Mackie joined NMC as a Adjunct Flight Instructor with the Aviation program April 30. He can be reached at (231) 995-1220 or amackie@nmc.edu.

 

 

Jenny Marcelin joined NMC as Supplemental Deck Crew with the Great Lakes Maritime Academy April 29. She can be reached at (231) 995-1200 or jmarcelin@nmc.edu.

 

 

Jessie Martin joined NMC as a Adjunct Flight Instructor with the Aviation program April 30. She can be reached at (231) 995-1220 or jmartin@nmc.edu.

 

 

Paul Monks joined NMC as Supplemental Deck Crew with the Great Lakes Maritime Academy April 29. He can be reached at (231) 995-1200 or pmonks@nmc.edu.

 

 

Helen Morrow joined NMC as a Student Employee in the Student Life Office May 7. She can be reached at (231) 995-1118 or hmorrow@nmc.edu.

 

 

Zhihua Ouyang joined NMC as a Student Employee in the Student Life Office May 8. She can be reached at (231) 995-1118 or zouyang@nmc.edu.

 

 

Rachel Prins joined NMC as Line Crew with the Aviation program April 11. She can be reached at (231) 995-1220 or rprins@nmc.edu.

 

 

Nick Zarafonitis joined NMC as Supplemental Deck Crew with the Great Lakes Maritime Academy April 29. He can be reached at (231) 995-1200 or nzarafonitis@nmcedu.

NMC BBQ First Annual Printmaking Sale

Please join us May 19, 11 a.m.-5 p.m. at the Fine Arts Building for an art-filled day at the NMC BBQ! Purchase student prints produced throughout the 2019 Spring Semester using various techniques such as intaglio, embossing, and monoprinting. All proceeds go towards the rising artists. We welcome participants of all ages to come and see as well as be inspired by the traditional methods of printmaking offered at the classes here at NMC. Prints start at $3, and vary on price based off of quality, quantity, and size. Watch students demonstrate different printing techniques, learn about the printing process through our live demos, and delve into the art.

Tim Nelson to be honored with National Outstanding Eagle Scout Award

NMC President Tim Nelson will be honored with a National Outstanding Eagle Scout Award at a Building Character Celebration at the Hagerty Center Monday, May 13 from 6 to 9 p.m. The celebration is hosted by the Boy Scouts of America’s Michigan Crossroads Council.

The NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award (NOESA) is a prestigious recognition granted by the local council’s NESA committee to Eagle Scouts who have demonstrated outstanding achievement at the local, state, or regional level. The NOESA recognizes Eagle Scouts whose efforts have made a positive impact in the community.

Learn more about the award and the entire celebration here.

Health Services summer closure notice

Student Health Services will be closed May 21 for the summer and will reopen Monday, August 12 at 9 a.m.

  • Emergency medical services may be obtained at:
  • Munson Walk-In Clinic, 550 Munson Ave. (935-8686)
  • Bayside Docs, 501 Munson Ave, TC, (933-9150)
  • The Walk-In Clinic, US 31 South, (929-1234)
  • Munson Medical Center, 1105 6th Street, (935-5000)